Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

If you are allergic to bug trackers, you can post here any remarks, issues and potential bugs you encounter
ARad
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:33 pm

Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

Postby ARad » Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:18 pm

Suddenly my mouse pointer is invisible.

- Can still pan and move a point cloud in the display window.
- Can see where the mouse is from the reaction of the menu items and buttons, and the individual lines in the DB Tree.
- Can press buttons such as changing the view angle and they work.
- Cannot open or select a submenu, however.

Since I'm using a plugin to do some MLS Smoothing I'm stuck.

Rebooted machine, no joy.
Then uninstalled and reinstalled CC, rebooted, no joy.
Uninstalled, Downloaded new CloudCompare_v2.9.0.beta_setup_x64.exe, reinstalled, no joy.

Thanks!

daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3238
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

Postby daniel » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:45 pm

Ah, that's interesting ;)

Actually the mouse pointer is not managed by CC itself. Normally it should be done by Windows, but I guess there may be some potential actions done by Qt (the portable framework on which CC is built). Have you updated your graphic card driver recently? And what graphic card is it by the way?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin

ARad
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:33 pm

Re: Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

Postby ARad » Wed Oct 04, 2017 6:48 pm

No recent changes.

Was working several hours ago.

Intel HD 530 Graphics
Nvidia® Quadro® M1000M w/2GB GDDR5

daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3238
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

Postby daniel » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:11 pm

Is the issue reproducible with both graphic cards? (you can see which one is used in the Console, and you can change which one is used with the NVidia control panel).
Daniel, CloudCompare admin

ARad
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:33 pm

Re: Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

Postby ARad » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:07 pm

The issues occurs with either one set as Preferred Graphics Processor.

Another detail - I mentioned I can click on the buttons that change the view, by watching for the highlighting that comes with the position, and then clicking.

But I cannot activate submenus with a keyboard shortcut - pressing the Alt key to bring up the underlines in the menu corresponding to the submenus does work, but when I press Alt, D the submenu doesn't pop up. This is independent of the mouse position.

Hopefully that's informative and helps isolate where the problem might be.

Thanks for the intensive support on this problem in particular and on this program in general - it is much appreciated.

A

daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3238
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

Postby daniel » Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:03 am

Nope, if it's not a graphic card issue, then it means it must be a Windows issue? And as it appeared suddenly, I'm clueless.

Here are some random things you can check (double screen, mouse cursor trails, etc.): https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussions/my-mouse-pointer-disappears-243929/. Sadly this seems to be a rather rare issue.
Daniel, CloudCompare admin

ARad
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:33 pm

Re: Mouse pointer not visible, can't access menus

Postby ARad » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:00 pm

Thanks for the direction on that, it led me to a clue that seems to have done the job.

The tip was the multiple screens. CC was up in the main display, and when I opened "screen resolution" and changed one of the other screens to the main screen and it cleared right up.

Restarting to just the laptop display didn't do it; the problem still happened in that case, have not tried since the fix.

Mouse trails settings didn't seem to have an effect in this case, I tried that before adjusting the "main display" setting.

For future troubleshooting reference, I am using Windows 7 enterprise edition, on a dell 5510 laptop. The dual monitors for that laptop are both Dell monitors.

Thanks again for the close support on this issue, it is much appreciated.

Best,
Andy


Return to “Issues, bugs, etc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests