[request]Point Cloud Cleanup

To post any request/idea for new functionalities
vscalone

[request]Point Cloud Cleanup

Post by vscalone »

I've used CloudCompare for a whole hour now, and I can see that it works very well compared to other programs like it. I have one request for this program, in order for it to be a viable solution to mesh creation for my purposes.

A way to select vertices and delete them from the point cloud, would make this the perfect and simplest program for my needs.

Please let me know what can be done about this and how I can help, my background is in 3D modeling but I'm not experienced enough in writing plug-ins or programming.

Thanks
daniel
Site Admin

Re: [request]Point Cloud Cleanup

Post by daniel »

Hi,

indeed it shouldn't be too complicated as you can already 'select' vertices (in fact you can only pick them and spawn a label attached to them with SHIFT + left click on a vertex). To do that on a mesh you'll need to force the display of its vertices (by checking the checkbox on the left of the 'vertices' entity in the db tree). You can also enlarge the displayed size of the points to make this process easier.

The main issue here is the human interface: how do you imagine such a tool? Do you want to delete vertices or would it be sufficient to select triangles and delete them (I must admit it would be much easier).

Alternatively, you could flag vertices (by picking them sequentially) and eventually use the 'filter points by value' tool to remove all vertices with a given value. But I guess an interactive edition would be more convenient?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
vscalone

Post by vscalone »

It may be easier to delete triangles, but that is only after computing a mesh based on points. With some point clouds, certain points will make amorphous shapes protruding from the desired mesh. Deleting those triangles can create holes that you then have to patch, making the process longer.

My process is...
Running photo solve.