Weird "permanent" crash / freeze

Feel free to ask any question here
gse

Weird "permanent" crash / freeze

Post by gse »

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to CC and try to co-register point clouds (same scene, different years). Anyways, the probem I'm facing might be related to performance/memory limitations, since the original point clouds are fairly large (10-20 Mio points). However, something erratic seems involved as well, maybe one of you has experience with such?

Here's what happened a few days ago and just now again:

I load a large point cloud. I reduce it by segmentation & delete (cropping). I save it under a new name. I re-open it, crop it a bit more. But this time, saving freezes, means, CC does not even show the save dialog (hourglass instead). And now, if I kill CC and re-open the programm, it does not even save a tiny point cloud, that I load for test. Same behaviour: Hourglass.

What did I do for trouble shooting:

- Checking for running CC background processes in task manager --> find none
- Restart of my PC --> did not help
- Re-Install of CC --> did not help !!!

What did help the first time just seems waiting a few days!! This sounds pretty weird but at some point it worked again last week. Just until now, where I overstrained it again. The described happend with TLS point clouds as well with such created with Pix4D.

So my question: Does this sound familiar to someone? Does someone have an idea, on how I can get CC back to work faster? And possibly avoid such crashes?

Some details:

- Windows 8.1
- Acer Aspire laptop
- Intel Core i5 5200U
- RAM 16 GB
- NVDIA GeForce GTX 950M
- CloudCompare 2.9 beta (happened with 2.6 and 2.8 similar)

THANKS, Gerhard
daniel
Site Admin

Re: Weird "permanent" crash / freeze

Post by daniel »

Hi,

This is a weird bug indeed. Especially since a few tens of million points is definitely a 'large' cloud for CloudCompare (you'll more probably hit a wall over 200 or 300 million points with your configuration).