Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Feel free to ask any question here
Post Reply
sebwr
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2020 7:57 am

Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Post by sebwr »

Hey,
I am writing a python script that uses the command line feature from CC. This works fine with windows and Linux. Now it was requested, that the script also runs on macOS. But I can't start the CC in the command line mode. I tried the following things:
  • /Applications/CloudCompare.app
  • /Applications/CloudCompare.app/Contents/MacOS/CloudCompare
This is the call which is working fine under Windows and Linux:
"%s -SILENT -AUTO_SAVE OFF -O -GLOBAL_SHIFT -%i -%i -%i %s" -DROP_GLOBAL_SHIFT -C_EXPORT_FMT LAS -SAVE_CLOUDS FILE %s"
where the first string is the path to the CC executable. But I guess the actual call is not important as the executable is not found in the first place.

The only thing I found is this here and unfortunately is not answered.
maybe related: http://www.danielgm.net/cc/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4665

Thank you
Jälv
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:35 pm

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Post by Jälv »

I don't have acces to a mac but i recall that on macOs there is an 'open' command
that can start applications have you tried it ?

like
open -a CloudCompare -SILENT .....
lguerit
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2021 11:44 am

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Post by lguerit »

Hi,

I have the exact same issue, I have a python script that runs well on Linux/Windows but we can not run it with Mac. It seems that it is related to the path to CC. Did you manage to solve this ?

Thanks a lot,

Laure
WargodHernandez
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:59 pm

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Post by WargodHernandez »

did you try the linked answer?

Code: Select all

open -a CloudCompare.app --args -O full_path_here/Site_01_1_Scan.laz
lguerit
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2021 11:44 am

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Post by lguerit »

Hi, yes, I did try the link but it is not working. If I copy this in a terminal, it does open CloudCompare but what I'm trying to do is simply to access CloudCompare from a python script. It works well with Windows so I really think it is a problem of path / access to CloudCompare ith Mac.
Post Reply