Using Cloud-To-Mesh, in Command Line Mode

Feel free to ask any question here
Post Reply
michaeladamsen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 6:07 pm

Using Cloud-To-Mesh, in Command Line Mode

Post by michaeladamsen »

Hi :-)

I am trying to write a script that:
1. Imports a point cloud and fits the best plane on it
2. Saves this plane as a mesh so it can be used later in another script
3. Calculates the cloud-to-mesh distances between the plane and the cloud
4. Saves the new cloud

To make it work properly with my other planned script, the saved mesh and cloud need to be saved with a certain name so the other script can open it without me typing in the new name.

Here is the script:

Code: Select all

cd C:\Program Files\CloudCompare
CloudCompare -AUTO_SAVE OFF -O "C:\...[path]...\input_cloud.bin" -BEST_FIT_PLANE -SAVE_MESHES FILE "C:\...[path]...\output_mesh.bin"-C2M_DIST -SAVE_CLOUDS "C:\...[path]...\output_cloud.bin"
And here are the problems I have encountered so far:
1. My AUTO_SAVE doesn't seem to work, the files are saved automaticly with date and time in the name.
2. After some experiments I was able to save a cloud in my directory with a name I chose, but it doesnt work with the plane/mesh that is generated by -BEST-FIT-PLANE. It says "one file specified but mesh not found",
3. The cloud to mesh distance cant find a mesh to calculate from.
WargodHernandez
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:59 pm

Re: Using Cloud-To-Mesh, in Command Line Mode

Post by WargodHernandez »

Code: Select all

cd C:\Program Files\CloudCompare
CloudCompare -AUTO_SAVE OFF -O "C:\...[path]...\input_cloud.bin" -BEST_FIT_PLANE -KEEP_LOADED -SAVE_MESHES FILE "C:\...[path]...\output_mesh.bin"-C2M_DIST -SAVE_CLOUDS "C:\...[path]...\output_cloud.bin"
That should fix the missing mesh issue.
michaeladamsen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 6:07 pm

Re: Using Cloud-To-Mesh, in Command Line Mode

Post by michaeladamsen »

Ok, thanks a lot :-)
Post Reply