[Sloved] Trouble building CloudCompare

All about Windows versions
adriantaylor09
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm

[Sloved] Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by adriantaylor09 »

Hey there,

I'm trying to build the CloudCompare project, and I'm having a bit of trouble, hopefully someone can help me out.

Here is my configuration:
Windows 7 x64
QT 5.3
CMake 3.1.0-rc1 (windows GUI)

Here are the steps I have taken:
Followed the wiki steps for generating the project using cmake.
Set the CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX to C:/Program Files/CloudCompareProjects
Included qEDL and qDUMMY_PLUGIN
generated the project...

attempted to build the install project in VS2012 but returned a bunch of errors (63 to be precise).
I've attached my error log as a series of screenshots.

I'm a bit of a newbie at this so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Adrian
Attachments
cloudCompareErrorLog_04.png
cloudCompareErrorLog_04.png (27.47 KiB) Viewed 7370 times
cloudCompareErrorLog_02.png
cloudCompareErrorLog_02.png (79.64 KiB) Viewed 7370 times
cloudCompareErrorLog_01.png
cloudCompareErrorLog_01.png (77.89 KiB) Viewed 7370 times
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by daniel »

Hi,

as all errors seem to relate to moc files (Qt), it's maybe due to a miss-configuration of Qt in CMake. Can you show us the Qt configuration in CMake?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
adriantaylor09
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by adriantaylor09 »

It turns out I hadn't set the path to qmake.exe in cmake. I fixed that, but still wasn't able to build the project successfully in visual studio.

Two screenshots attached, the first is my visual studio errors. The second is my cmake setup.

thanks for your help.
Adrian
Attachments
error_list.PNG
error_list.PNG (67.09 KiB) Viewed 7366 times
cmake_qt.PNG
cmake_qt.PNG (35.83 KiB) Viewed 7366 times
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by daniel »

Sorry for the late answer, I somehow missed your answer ;)

Do you use Qt with OpenGL? i.e. "Qt 5.3.2 for Windows 64-bit (VS 2013, OpenGL, 573 MB)" instead of "Qt 5.3.2 for Windows 64-bit (VS 2013, 575 MB)" for instance?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
adriantaylor09
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by adriantaylor09 »

Yes, the name of the QT5 installer that I used is:
qt-opensource-windows-x86-msvc2013_64_opengl-5.3.2.exe
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by daniel »

Well it's a bit weird because another user just reported having successfully compiled with the same setup as yours:
http://cloudcompare.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1026

I wonder what brings the glew definitions before CC... I bet it must be Qt 5.3.2 (I don't believe Visual 2013 links it by default?!). I'll have to test this setup on my side.

Meanwhile, your best bet is to use a slightly earlier version of Qt if possible (5.2 maybe?)
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
adriantaylor09
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by adriantaylor09 »

Ok, so I used QT 5.2.1 OpenGL version, and made some progress...

The CloudCompare project built successfuly in VS 2012 and created the correct files in the install directory. I've changed the debugging command of the Install project to point to the cloudcompare executable, and rebuilt. But when I tried to run the application I got the message:
cloudcompare error.png
cloudcompare error.png (11.46 KiB) Viewed 7352 times
This seems like a similar issue to:
http://cloudcompare.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1026

Also, if I hit the build and run command from Visual studio, I get this message:
cloudcompare error 2.png
cloudcompare error 2.png (19.55 KiB) Viewed 7352 times
Which is strange because I definitely have administrator access.
Any ideas?
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by daniel »

For the second issue, it's simple: you have to 'set as startup project' the CloudCompare project instead of the ALL_BUILD one. Just right click on the CloudCompare project to choose the corresponding option.

For the first issue: do you see the 'Qt5Core.dll' file next to CloudCompare.exe in the installation directory? If not, when you compile the INSTALL project, do you see any error at the end in the output console? (when CMake actually copies the files).
cc_cmake_copy_error.jpg
cc_cmake_copy_error.jpg (41.7 KiB) Viewed 7351 times
If everything works, you should see something like:
cc_cmake_copy_no_error.jpg
cc_cmake_copy_no_error.jpg (101.44 KiB) Viewed 7351 times
And if there's an error (or if Qt5Core.dll doesn't appear in CMake output) where does QT5_ROOT_PATH points to in your CMake configuration?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
adriantaylor09
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by adriantaylor09 »

There's no Qt5Core.dll in the installation directory,

There are some errors in my console:
cloudcompare error 4.png
cloudcompare error 4.png (132.33 KiB) Viewed 7351 times
And here is my QT setup in cmake:
cmake_01.png
cmake_01.png (95.94 KiB) Viewed 7351 times
I'm also getting a build error message in Visual Studio:
cloudcompare error 5.png
cloudcompare error 5.png (13.49 KiB) Viewed 7351 times
Thanks for your help so far, and I apologize for all the questions! as you can tell, I'm a bit of a newbie at this!
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7382
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Trouble building CloudCompare

Post by daniel »

I think the only issue is that QT5_ROOT_PATH is wrongly set: it should be something like "C:/Qt/Qt5.2.1/5.2.1/msvc2012_64_opengl" (nothing more ;).

This way Cmake will found the Dlls, etc.
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
Post Reply