Structured vs. unstructured file formats

Feel free to ask any question here
wftarch

Structured vs. unstructured file formats

Post by wftarch »

I'm just beginning to explore the world of 3D scanning and modeling and was hoping for some help with a particular issue. I'm working with a point cloud in .las format generated with a tripod based scanner, a Trimble model TX8. The scan is a "Level 3" according to the scanner, if that helps. The scan utilized target based registration with spheres. Someone else took the scan and processed the point cloud data using Trimble RealWorks. I've been experimenting with it in Recap Pro and CloudCompare. I would like to be able to generate a mesh from the point cloud, but understand from my limited research that it may not be possible in Recap Pro since the .las format data is considering "unstructured". But, I've also read that "unstructured" data is associated with scanners that don't stay in a fixed location while scanning, like those attached to a drone or a vehicle. So, in this particular case, since the scanner was fixed, can the .las file be considered "structured" or can it be exported or converted to a format that is?

According to Autodesk, an "unstructured" file format can't be converted to a "structured" format. From this, I assume that the "unstructured" file formats (like .las) just don't contain or support the data that makes for a "structured" scan, even if the scanning procedure was a "fixed origin" or tripod scan?

But, although I haven't gotten the results I would like, in CloudCompare I can compute normals and create a mesh from this "unstructured" point cloud.