Volume 2.5 - grid export and command line missing

If you are allergic to bug trackers, you can post here any remarks, issues and potential bugs you encounter
adriano

Volume 2.5 - grid export and command line missing

Post by adriano »

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new in the use of command line on CloudCompare so sorry if I just missed something out, I'm curently working on an automatic process to calculate volume from two point clouds of the same area so I recently updated CloudCompare from 2.1 to 2.7 on the windows device I use so far. I built all my method from manual experiment on 2.1 and reached half of automation through command line on 2.7, the thing is I should now use Volume 2.5 tool and export calculated grid but I can't.

When using CloudCompare itself the section "export grid" disapeared from interface, no matter what inputs I give it or what grid-step I want.
Finally when using comand line, inputs and first functionalities are okay, but now it tells me "Unknown or misplaced command: '-VOLUME' when I try to compute my two Pointclouds with this tool.

Here is the structure of my command so far:

CloudCompare -AUTO_SAVE OFF -O cloud1.las -O cloud2.las -APPLY_TRANS transfo.txt -CROP Xmin:Ymin:Zmin:Xmax:Ymax:Zmax -VOLUME -GRID_STEP 0.5 -SAVE_CLOUDS ALL_AT_ONCE

Actually I was using M3C2 plugin with my manual method before using Volume 2.5 so I was computing core cloud and M3C2 output cloud with Volume 2.5 but it doesn't work anymore even this way.

Would you be so kind to tell me what I did wrong or if Volume 2.5 doesn't have "grid export" functionality now ? Also is -VOLUME still the correct way to call Volume 2.5 by command line ? I can't find any change of that sort in history of updates.

Best regards.
daniel
Site Admin

Re: Volume 2.5 - grid export and command line missing

Post by daniel »

According to the documentation (https://www.cloudcompare.org/doc/wiki/i ... _line_mode), the volume grid is automatically exported.