Page 1 of 1

Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 8:11 am
by sebwr
Hey,
I am writing a python script that uses the command line feature from CC. This works fine with windows and Linux. Now it was requested, that the script also runs on macOS. But I can't start the CC in the command line mode. I tried the following things:
  • /Applications/CloudCompare.app
  • /Applications/CloudCompare.app/Contents/MacOS/CloudCompare
This is the call which is working fine under Windows and Linux:
"%s -SILENT -AUTO_SAVE OFF -O -GLOBAL_SHIFT -%i -%i -%i %s" -DROP_GLOBAL_SHIFT -C_EXPORT_FMT LAS -SAVE_CLOUDS FILE %s"
where the first string is the path to the CC executable. But I guess the actual call is not important as the executable is not found in the first place.

The only thing I found is this here and unfortunately is not answered.
maybe related: http://www.danielgm.net/cc/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4665

Thank you

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2020 4:32 pm
by Jälv
I don't have acces to a mac but i recall that on macOs there is an 'open' command
that can start applications have you tried it ?

like
open -a CloudCompare -SILENT .....

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2021 11:48 am
by lguerit
Hi,

I have the exact same issue, I have a python script that runs well on Linux/Windows but we can not run it with Mac. It seems that it is related to the path to CC. Did you manage to solve this ?

Thanks a lot,

Laure

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2021 12:21 pm
by WargodHernandez
did you try the linked answer?

Code: Select all

open -a CloudCompare.app --args -O full_path_here/Site_01_1_Scan.laz

Re: Start CloudCompare in MacOS terminal in command-line mode

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:57 pm
by lguerit
Hi, yes, I did try the link but it is not working. If I copy this in a terminal, it does open CloudCompare but what I'm trying to do is simply to access CloudCompare from a python script. It works well with Windows so I really think it is a problem of path / access to CloudCompare ith Mac.